Reflecting: On Faith

As I approach one year of taking the many steps to change my life, a moment of reflection came over me. 

One year ago today, was the Sunday before my #VSG surgery. I’m a member of The Life Church RVA with services at the time being held at Binford Middle School. This particular Sunday I was nervous beyond measure. For many years I asked God to give me the courage to make healthier lifestyle changes but I didn’t trust him; my faith was not all in with the only person who has never let me down.


As my pastor began to pray over the congregation, he said something that stopped me in my tracks. “Anyone who is going through something health wise this week whatever the doctor says everything is going to be okay.” I knew that was God speaking to me through him.

One year later. 

Today we had the first church service in OUR own church building. (A blessing in itself with a church that is only two years old.) Once again God spoke to me through my pastor when he said, “Let your Testimony be a referral”.

Well here it is: Through faith in God, hard work and consistency; I have grown in ways I could never imagine possible without God. Not just physically but spiritually and mentally which are if not more just as important. As all humans there are days when you want to stray from the mundane routine but that is not how you become successful. With God on my side, days that I didn’t want to “stick to the plan” I did. Days I did not want to plan, but I did. There were then days, weeks and even at one time a full month of being hard on myself and letting all of that go out the window. Until God pulled me back in, and showed me to trust the process. Trust HIS timing.  Keep Faith.

We all struggle, but with Faith you can change anything.! 

“You have to stay in the presence of God long enough and you will find out this is something you can not take credit for.” -Pastor Vernon

I can’t take full responsibility for this journey. God’s hands were all over it. IT WAS A MIRACLE. Being apart of a church that I know God placed me in was the impact that steered my change. Through him ALL things are possible. 

He made a miracle happen in my life. Now it’s time to move “From a miracle mentality to a maintenance mentality.” -Pastor Gordon

Everyday I continue to fight to keep my faith, and in this new season, my maintenance will kick in. Nothing is easy, but for me the beginning of this journey was filled with the optimism to explore the unknown. There was no doubt in my mind that I wouldn’t go far, but now the real journey of maintenance begins.

The lifestyle that I have now committed to, the journey of growing closer to and with God, that season is slowing morphing into a season of maintenance. Sometimes your season of growth cools off and gives you a chance to reflect and live right where you are in this very moment.

I enjoyed living in this season, now its time for a shift into a new one. One that I will document; the good, bad and the ugly. One that I look to lean on God in as my patients is tested. One that will help others along the way as they deal with any season of their lives.

I say this to encourage you to come along with me; and no matter what never stop having faith.

Happy Sunday! 

Until next time.

-Jazi 💕

One thought on “Reflecting: On Faith

Leave a comment