Show UP

Week one.

For the first time, I cried.

I sat in my car and cried after a gym class. Not of sadness, but because I was back in a place that I truly know helped saved my life. I Love Orange Theory Fitness!

I’m currently on week two of being back in the gym.

In 2015, I heard about this workout where you can burn up to 1,000 calories a workout! At the time, it sounded terrifying, why would I want to do that, it sounds like a lot of work! In July of 2015, that gym made its way to Richmond.

I remember walking up to the newly finished gym and meeting Brooks. I told him how AFRAID I was to be a part of this program. He stopped me right there and told me I would be fine! He handed me an XL T-shirt, and in my mind, I wanted to crawl into a ball and die. THERE WAS NO WAY A XL WOULD FIT. I kept in my mind if I SHOW UP and PUT FORTH effort, one day it would and realized no NOT tomorrow but one day.

May 2018

I can talk about OTF all day, but this is for my return!

On May 8th! Eight Weeks Post Skin Removal Surgery! I was back in my HAPPY PLACE! Kicking off the week with Coach John

Day 1 Monday: Coach John

Strength Day.. filled wit HILLS! My LEAST Favorite.

Coach John was the coach that had me waking up at 5am Thursday mornings with a playlist filled with throwback hip hop and rock!  He keeps us pumped throughout the workout.

I was nervous to get back but listened to my body as I slowly used eight pounds weights. My feelings were hurt but taking it easy is priority. With four more days of workouts left, it felt good to slowly move back into things, and gage my strength based on my newly skin “less” arms.

Day 2 Tuesday: Coach Hedi

ESP Endurance, Strength and Power! MY FAVORITE!

In the beginning of my Journey every Monday Coach Hedi would make me cry! No SHE WAS NOT MEAN! She ALWAYS pointed out my accomplishments. She made me realize take it one class at a time, and to always check in with myself. “If you can say your address all the way to the zip code, YOU ARE NOT IN PUSH PACE.” – Coach Hedi. She PUSHED us on the treadmill for three different blocks.

Day 3 Wednesday: Coach Hannah

Endurance Day: And the NEW GYM!!! HEY OTF GLENSIDE

Coach Hannah is my girl! I love being pushed and she will call me out if she KNOWS I’m slacking.

Endurance: Progressive Push Pace! It’s Work, but I had one goal in mind on Day 3, DO NOT STOP RUNNING. I ran for a full 24 minutes in class reaching over two miles (WORTH EVERY STRIDE)!

Day 4 Thursday: Coach Mike

ESP Endurance, Strength & Power: WE GOT CRUNK. Coach Mike doesn’t MIND dancing. His bubbly personality and making gym time a good time while making sure you hit that orange is his priority! This day was all about ATL and Down-south CRUNK music. He had us ALL OVER THE GYM! It was an awesome loud and hype class.

Day 5 Friday: Coach Hannah

Power Day: “OUR HAPPY HOUR BEFORE HAPPY HOUR”-Coach Hannah

The week ended with another strong Power workout to send the class into the weekend. I took myself up a notch and picked up a 15-pound weight to see where my strength was and I felt good about it! All about tiny gains!

Three Things I Learned: Returning to the gym after Skin Removal Surgery

1. Take it easy: Major surgery requires rest for recovery. Just because your cleared to workout doesn’t mean you should jump back into the expectations of doing things the way you could before your surgery… Slow and Steady!

2. If it hurts STOP: Pushing past my comfort zone could have me out of the gym for a longer period of time. If something didn’t feel right or weights were to heavy, I switched to lighter ones until my body is ready to handle more.

3. Stay Positive: Picking up an eight pound weight when back in February I had gotten up to using 40, is ego crushing. However at the end of the day.. it gives me another goal to push towards!

One hour a day, dedicated to just myself. I don’t take my phone in the gym, and if I do it’s in a locker. This and meal prep are business meetings I’ve set up with the health Boss inside of me and will NOT be missed.

The support from other gym members I got during my return was Amazing!

“I had no idea that was you”

“You are fading away to nothing, you look amazing.”

“You look more comfortable!”

“How do you feel?”

I love my gym family, from the support at the front desk staff to the all the gym members who help me BURN even on days I don’t want to. The ones to you left and right cheering you on, and even occasionally will say “I’m dying how about you!?”

I burn for a lot of practical things, to be fit, to feel healthy, to lose weight, change my body, look good naked 🙂 etc…

But every warm smiling face, high-five, and words of encouragement all keep me coming back for more Orange!

People ask me where do I find my motivation, and I tell them all the same thing.

“Every day you have a choice. You either do it or you don’t! If you SHOW up every day and PUT FORTH Effort.. the CHANGE will come!”

Before I go!

A Shout Out to ALL My OTF Buddies! Near and Far! And I’m ALWAYS down to take a class with anyone who has never been before! 😘

Until next time

Jazi 💕

Leave a comment