Running for the Finish Line

Another year… Another 6.2! πŸ’ͺ🏾πŸ’ͺ🏾πŸ’ͺ🏾

The streak continues!

My MAIN goal in 2018 is to run a half marathon. But we will start with baby steps!

My favorite and first ever race. The Ukrop’s Monument Avenue 10K.

2016.. 350 Pounds and walking the race in 2 hours and 3 Minutes…

2018… 192 Pounds… jogging/walking to the finish line in 1 hour and 30 minutes 5 weeks post #ExcessSkinRemoval

I set out to just finished and shaved 5 minutes off last years time!

I had no goal… just to FINISH.

When I walked into my Plastic Surgeons office, my first question to him was, “Will I be able to run in the Monument Avenue 10K in April if my surgery is in March?”

He said yes! And I believed in him and myself to do so.

I did a lot of walking post surgery. From baby-steps around my parents house, building up outside. Walking in moderation for 15 minutes every hour I was awake helped me feel normal and loosened up stiffness in my body.

Some days my thighs would swell others my lower abdomen; but drinking more water as I got more active and changing into tighter and thigh length compression garments helped. On race day I ran in my binder to help with my running posture.

The Monday of race week April 9th…

I was 4 Weeks post surgery I felt comfortable doing my first run on a treadmill. I pushed myself for one mile and it felt great

The following day.

I pushed but this time outside with no expectations. I was able to accomplish a 3.2 mile run without stopping. An accomplishment that made me excited about race day.

The Big Race Morning: April 14th, 2018

I had my girls right next to me on race day. The only plan was to walk to Monument Avenue, (about .2 miles)then once on the main course start your run.

I was able to run a full 5k before the heat outside kicked in. It was a rather warm day to run and seeing as though I never ran in warmer temperatures, it made for a harder run. I took my recovery into mind and walked between mile 3.1 and 5. After 5 I ran to the finish line. Overall, I ran about 4.2 miles and walked 2.

My CBS 6 family and Orangetheory Family were on the course cheering which gave me extra boost! And checking my phone to switch my music offered some running motivational text that pushed me closer to the finish line…

I’m excited to get back in the gym full time next month.. and start training for my half later this summer!

Before my run, this message was apart of my daily devotion…

No matter how tired I got, I never gave up. I kept moving forward.

This run confirms in my life… you can do anything you put your mind to.

Change your mindset and it will change your Life. πŸ’•πŸ’•

Until Next time

Jazi πŸ’•

One thought on “Running for the Finish Line

Leave a comment