March 1995

March 1995.

A 6-year-old Jazmin woke up out of anesthesia with with one thing on my mind… “Am I skinny?..”

That’s a wild thought process for a child. You see I’ve been “losing weight” my whole life. I come from and am proud to be apart a family full of LARGE & in CHARGE LOUD JOYOUS group of human beings who LOVE to eat.

Yes, I was overweight but so was my family. My hero my daddy is a big guy who played basketball and I wanted to be “just like my daddy!”

Now … my Ma’s part of the family is petite, but RULE & COMMAND a room without having to open their mouths, and some of my aunts are Beautifully VOLUPTUOUS…

I paint this picture of my family to say…

Weight was never an issue just something that people saw. I NEVER had an issue with being big, I dressed my larger frame as I’ll dress my smaller one.

My family and friends loved me then and ALWAYS told me how beautiful I was inside and out.

But for 28 years.. I tried and failed and tried and failed to lose weight… I knew something had to change. I was not taking care of the only temple God Gave Me. So one night I prayed… I said, “God what do I have to do?”

Through the power of social media… the hashtag VSG came across my explore page. Not knowing what it was at the time. I clicked and realized this is what I had to do.

I never turned back…

So In March 2016, I called my support system. The two people who with no questions asked will ride to the end of the world and back.

My mom flew to Richmond where we met my Bariatric surgeon.

I was cleared for Surgery and I never looked back…

In August 2016… I got my sleeve… and I’ve been fighting for a healthy body ever since.

Now here is where life will truly make you laugh.

23 years later.. March 2018….

A 6-year old Jazmin woke up to the reality of “waking up skinny”.

Well of course now that I’m 29. It’s not waking up skinny. It’s waking up HEALTHY. My lifestyle continues…

With the body God ALWAYS told me I was suppose to have…

and for that God I thank-you.

Sneak Peak…

Until next time.

-Jazi 💕

7 thoughts on “March 1995

  1. You look amazing and the Cromwell crew wishes you love, joy and peace!!! All of your hard work has truly paid off and it’s a wonderful thing. Congratulations on a job well done!!!!😊 To new beginning!!!

    Like

  2. I was nervous, for you, excited for you, and happy for. Glad you made a great recovery… Cant wait for more of the journey.

    Like

Leave a comment