The Ups, Downs, Good, Bad & Ugly of My Plastic Surgery Recovery

It’s Been 4 WEEKS!!!!

My God, is big…. So Strong, and Mighty.

My Gods Plans for me, Go beyond my wildest dreams.

There’s nothing My GOD can NOT do!

-The Planetshakers

That stanza has gotten me through the very dark days of plastic surgery recovery.

This type of surgery is not easy. The results are so rewarding, but thanks to emotions recovery seems like it will never happen…

I wrote this 5 days after surgery…

Day 5: March 12, 2018

🗣 Listen This is NOT easy!

Did I think it would be… No.

Did I expect this much pain… sadly No.

Days 1-5 post op, have me down! I don’t eat. I can’t feel my back. My arms are sore and if I could snatch these blood drains from my body I would.

I’m impatient.

I’m so active and I miss sitting up with out problems, staying awake during a tv show, walking upright sleeping on my tummy; all things I did last Tuesday’s that I can’t do today it’s really getting the best of me.

I can’t eat. 🙄 every time I eat I throw up.

Thanks to the power of Social Media, I reached out to a woman I’ve never met in my life who went through the same surgery weeks prior, asking her “DOES THIS GET BETTER!?”

Here’s apart of our exchange:

I thank you @laurette_vsg ! You helped me more then you will ever know! 💕

After that day, I decided to write little blurbs every day.

Here are the highlights some good, exiting and others what I’ll call small bumps in the recovery road.

Day 8: March 15, 2018

Did a switch flip!?  I felt really good today. Not much pain, I’m standing straight. Drains don’t bother me; I even took a shower by myself! My favorite cousin is here! He will be helping me get back to normal once I go back home and head to work.  I finally feel normal, did my hair and got dressed.

Day 9: March 16, 2018

6-hour drive back to Richmond from Charleston SC

YES! DRAINS REMOVED! Not so fast, I have two! But I started with 6!

I feel much better and more mobile!

Day 13: March 21, 2018

Sheesh! Work was a killer!

I’m glad to be back! I was getting bored being home.

Took my pillow for comfort and I need a nap I’m wore out! But being back in a newsroom gives me normalcy that helps with healing not only my body but my mind!

Day 14: March 22, 2018

It HURTS!

Tingling, Zips, Zaps, Burning Sensation… whoa! What’s happening!

My lower back has so much feeling!

A quick call to my PS: “You are healing. Your nerve endings are connecting this is perfectly normal.”

Day 17: March 24, 2018

I hosted a Baby Shower for a close friend and one of my biggest supporters!

Before I left, she asked me if I would be up to hosting, and of course I had already believed i would and it was an honor. With the help of our co-workers we were able to pull of a wonderful Celebration for baby Savannah Rose💕.

Jasmine has been here from the beginning! I’ve love doing life with her back in April 2016, she was one of the first friends I told I was having gastric sleeve. We took this picture at her Blessing Away before she headed to her destination wedding! We took this second picture at the baby shower, she was also one of the first people I told I was getting Plastic Surgery!

I love you Jas, and I thank- God we were put in the CBS 6 Newsrooom at the same time. I can’t wait to meet baby Savannah!! She is so blessed to have you and Julian! 💕💕

Day 18: March 25, 2018

I pulled a drain per my surgeon’s orders. It wasn’t draining over 25 CCs in 24 Hours.

I also slept this entire day until work. I was wiped out! I can tell my body is swollen because of the extra walking and standing. Kept my compression extra tight.

Day 22: March 29, 2018

Was invited to the Virginia Communications Hall of Fame!

Wait! I still have a drain, but this will not stop me!

Had a great time with my work family met some inductees and had good food and drinks! Life is feeling normal!

Day 23: March 30, 2018

PS must remove some stitches.

No, he will not take this drain it’s still draining. He then says the very scary words oh so very casually, “Let me drain this seroma.”

Seroma: A pocket of clear serious fluid that sometimes develops in the body after surgery.

I thought it was a death wish but I hadn’t even known the seroma existed. Only thing that hurt was the needle! He drained what seemed like a gallon (it was 80ML) of fluid from my right hip. The needle was the only thing that hurt. I will have to have this seroma drained every week and keep on a tighter compression.

I’m very social and friends are calling. After licking my wounds, I knew I had to go out.

A close friend of mine who has been by my side since I moved to Richmond is moving so a night on the town is much needed.

I’ll miss you Quiona! You are going to kill it at the University of Maryland!

After a few hours of drinking and dancing (in heels I might add) my body said it was time to go home. Good Friday was a Good Friday!

Day 25: April 1, 2018

Happy Easter! I’m so blessed to be back at The Life Church RVA. My church family has made a big impact on my journey. The support from our life groups leaders, Heart & Soul workout group, the communications team and from my friends who have become family; truly show how God has blessed me. From my very first decision to have gastric surgery to my plastic surgery I prayed and asked God for guidance. He guided me to this church that took place in Binford Middle School in January of 2016 and has carried me all the way to 5515 Bryce Lane where my growth in him continues. I love my church and the foundation I have built with the people who are there with me!

Day 26: April 2, 2018

My first lymphatic drainage massage.

This felt amazing. I heard they help with swelling and at this point some relaxation is needed. The massage is very light pressing movements of the lymph nodes. For 60 minutes Jordan from Indigo RVA pressed and moved along my arms legs back neck and face. It was soothing and allowed my body to stretch. I booked a massage for one day a week for the entire month of April.

Day 28: April 4, 2018

Exactly 4 Weeks Post Plastic Surgery!

I can start training for the Ukrop’s Monument Avenue 10K.

Anyone who knows me knows this race has been a milestone every year I’ve been here in Richmond!!

My PS: Extra compression and be sure to take it easy!

I’m so excited to slowly be active again! Waking up every day with less pain.

I will be documenting on my Instagram @jazifresh3 my mini training and how getting back active is going!

Now I just have until May 8th and I can join my Orangetheory Fitness Family again!

The last 4 weeks have been taxing, yet SO rewarding! It’s just amazes me what you can do in two years’ time. Change your mindset and you can change your life. It’s the truth.

Luke 17:5-6

“The apostles said to the Lord, “Show us how to increase our faith.” The Lord answered, “If you had faith even as small as a mustard seed, you could say to this mulberry tree, ‘May you be uprooted and be planted in the sea,’ and it would obey you!”

I have completely changed my lifestyle and I’m so honored to be able to share my journey with all of you!

Until next time.

-Jazi 💕

One thought on “The Ups, Downs, Good, Bad & Ugly of My Plastic Surgery Recovery

Leave a comment